The Candy Diet

candymakesmuscleI KNEW IT!!!

I’ve known it since I was five-years-old, but those adults in my life tried to tell me a different story about candy.

So while I was researching WWII era recipes for the next Lutheran Ladies book, I discovered what had already been proven during the 40s: Chocolate really is “Fightin’ Food.” It’s full of protein, makes muscles, and probably cures cowlick, too. (I don’t know….I can’t read the small text on the ad.)

One of the great concerns on the home front was raising STRONG kiddos since meat, eggs, and dairy products were rationed.

This explains: Vitamin donuts, and that gummmy white-bread to build bodies 12 ways. (which we mostly rolled around on the kitchen table and made dough-marbles out of.Food_vitaminDonuts

Food_Bread

And , as any “Boomer” kid knows. You had to clean your plate. I always thought it was a “Lutheran thing.”  But now I know I can blame WWII for our parents teaching us to eat everything on our plates. Now, let me add, the war was over and done with, but the “rules” remained. I quickly learned how to work the system, even at such a young age, and didn’t put icky, always-overcooked vegetables on my plate, but somehow they  appeared there anyway, and I had to force them down with lots of whining and complaining.

If Mom, would’ve read a few magazines and served us chocolate or these souped-up donuts, there would’ve been ZERO arguments at dinnertime.  But we’re Lutheran. We don’t change. So…to this day, ox-tail soup and home-grown veggies from Victory gardens that we never stopped planting, still appear on our dinner menus. We still say grace over it and count it as a blessing. (And if you look at us, you’ll see…we’ve learned to eat it all.) 

rationing-food-is-a-weaponNow…bring on the chocolate. It’s time for a change.

9 thoughts on “The Candy Diet

  1. It would simply never occurred to me to not eat the crusts of my bread, but I drew the line at eating the heel. I wanted “bread on both sides”, thank you kindly. Fortunately, my grandparents let me get away with it, so the heels went to the chickens. We were always “semi-vegetarians”, but we did eat a LOT of chicken. Fortunately, chicken tongues probably aren’t worth cooking, but I do actually enjoy chicken liver. The problem is most people over-cook it; it should still be the slightest bit pink in the middle. A splash of Madeira and a bit of Dijon mustard, and you’re good to go. If you think tongue is bad, try having your mother decide to cook brains. With catsup. REE-volting.

    The problem in our house was squash. It is easy to grow, so my mom grew a lot of it. My mother would let the squash grow until they resembled baseball bats, so the seeds were big and tough.
    My sister loathed the stuff, and looking back, I don’t think my father was too crazy about it, either. My mom would mix it with the mashed potatoes, and my sister would slide all of the seeds to the side of the plate and then have to eat them, anyway, by themselves.

    I know a lot of folks fuss about the “clean your plate” business, but when I was growing up, rationing was still in place. There was barely enough food to put on the table (we were blessed that my grandparents had a farm) so you did eat everything, because there wasn’t anything else available.

    • I think that’s one of the benefits of scrabbling to put food on the table…it wipes out the snoot of picky eating very quickly.

      I don’t remember eating brains. I wonder if they were mishmashed into some other sinister concoction and passed off as meatloaf. Hmmm.
      Thanks for sharing your memories.

  2. When I was young my mother would also tell us to eat everything on our plate. If we did not, she would eat it before we had to wash the dishes. Now she says it is our fault she got fat! LOL
    My mom always made food go a long way–a roasts leftovers became BBQ beef sandwiches, or
    beef soup, or who knows. I find myself doing the same thing!

    • Rose, my mom, cleaned the plates the same way. I guess she couldn’t stand to see any little bit of food go to waste. We’re blessed, I suppose, if we can throw out the crust of toast instead of saving it for bread pudding…like your mom probably did

  3. Sue, How funny you should mention tongue. I’m discussing it on my other blog. We were forced to eat it, too. Bleech. There’s no way to disguise tongue. Another “it’s good-for-you myth that ranks right up there with Santa Claus.
    I’ll have the post up in a few minutes (as soon as I can find a truly disgusting image of cow tongue…shouldn’t be too hard.) Click my link if you have time to be disgusted.

  4. Ouch. How true it is. And the clean your plate mentality? Enforced over here too. I can remember a piece of liver that appeared on my plate for three consecutive meals. Hiss and spit. I have however more than made up for the chocolate which didn’t grace my early years.

Add your 2cents to the discussion

